Timing belt and tune-up

Started by BimmerM3, July 23, 2008, 11:18:02 PM

BimmerM3

Okay so I'm about to hit 105,000 miles, which is timing belt time. I've never done a timing belt before, but I'm not about to pay some ridiculous amount of money for a shop to do it, so here I am asking for help. So, here we go. I appologize ahead of time, but some of these will probably be stupid questions. I do plan on buying a Haynes manual since I seem to have lost my Chilton's CD again, but let me know if some of my questions will be answered in the Haynes.

This is what the owner's manual recommends that I do:

-Replace timing belt, balancer belt, and inspect water pump (what does inspect water pump mean?)
-Replace coolant
-Check idle speed
-inspect valve clearance (can I even do that without special tools?)
-Replace engine oil (duh)
-Rotate tires (duh)
-Replace engine oil filter (duh)
-inspect front and rear brakes (I can handle that)
-Check parking brake adjustment (could maybe use some help here)
-Inspect tie rod ends, steering gear box, and boots (what do I look for here?)
-Inspect suspension components (again, what to look for?)
-Inspect driveshaft boots (hey I can handle that)
-Inspect brake hoses and lines (just make sure they aren't cracking?)
-Check all fluid levles, condition of fluids, and check for leaks
-Inspect cooling system hoses and connections (just for cracked hoses and that they're on good?)
-Inspect exhaust system (what do I need to look for?)
-Inspect fuel lines and connections (again, just look for cracks and stuff?)

In addition, I'm a bad car owner so I'm overdue for some other things:

-Transmission fluid (I can handle that)
-Brake fluid (never done this before, but I bought a brake bleed kit for the E21 that I never got around to using since the E21 doesn't run at the moment... I should be able to use that, yeah?)
-Air filter (duh)
-Spark plugs (duh)
-Cabin filter (duh)