Why we chase

Started by rohan, January 04, 2009, 06:45:06 AM

Lebowski

Quote from: bing_oh on January 13, 2009, 10:49:30 PM
Written by a former FBI agent and criminal defense lawyer. :rolleyes: I'd recommend taking a class in criminal law at your local community college.

What's wrong w/ criminal defense lawyers?  :lol:

The suggestion to take a criminal law course is a good one, I may look into that at some point.

bing_oh

Quote from: Lebowski on January 14, 2009, 08:25:04 AM
What's wrong w/ criminal defense lawyers?  :lol:

The suggestion to take a criminal law course is a good one, I may look into that at some point.

I was rolling my eyes at the fact he was a former FBI agent... :lol:

I'm sure he has plenty of book knowledge...and maybe even a little practical experience...in application of the law. But, as an FBI agent, he's probably lacking in the street experience of the average road cop...the FBI is just a different kind of LE. As for being a defense lawyer, I can't count the number of time a lawyer has convinced me to throw his client into jail through bad advice. Sometimes, they just try to be too smart for their own good and it bites their clients in the ass.

Soup DeVille

Quote from: bing_oh on January 12, 2009, 12:59:41 AM
Your rights are those protections afforded to you within the US Constitution and how they are interpeted by the judicial system.

No, the rights enumerated (not afforded by the constitution and the BOR pre-existed the constitution, or any legal document for that matter) by the Bill of Rights are simply expressions of what was already there.

Does this sound familiar, "We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness. That to secure these rights, Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed..."?