Weekend with a poverty spec 2017 BMW 116i F20 (Pics & Review)

Started by cawimmer430, April 12, 2019, 10:59:24 AM

cawimmer430

A car magazine dropped off a facelifted 2017 BMW 116i F20 6-speed manual at my place. I will be taking shots for a "Buyer's Guide" to the F20 1-Series. I was hoping that this 1er had the B18B15 3-cylinder turbo engine, which I wanted to experience. Instead it has a conventional 4-cylinder turbo motor, the N13B16.

This is my first time behind the wheel of the current 1-Series, and the last Rear-Wheel-Drive 1er before the arrival of the FWD F52 models. As a former 1-Series' owner (E87 5-Door), I was eager to try the direct descendant, the F20, and my impressions aren't very good, especially in terms of driving feel.

But first some specs, which are as follows:

Engine: 1598cc 4-cylinder inline turbocharged gasoline
Power: 136-horsepower @ 4000-6000 RPM
Torque: 220 Nm @ 1250-4000 RPM
Transmission: 6-speed manual
Layout: Front Engine / Rear-Wheel-Drive
0-100 km/h: 8.5 seconds
Top Speed: 210 km/h

Essentially, the 116i F20 has similar performance to my ex-118i E87; in fact it's slightly quicker on paper. But to be honest, I prefer the way my old E87 drove compared to the current F20.

Quick impressions: interior is well-made but obviously of entry-level premium car quality. Nothing that will blow you away, but sufficiently pleasing in feel and appearance. Interior room for the front occupants is decent (my E87 felt roomier, though), rear seat space is awful and the trunk is decent.