A4 compared to 3er

Started by Tom, February 06, 2006, 04:01:18 PM

saxonyron

MTL_A4, I'm in the same exact boat as you.  A4 vs 330xi.  Playing with options, the A4 consistently comes in $2,000 to $3,000 less.  Not a huge amount, but I'm trying to come to grips with the slightly better driving dynamics of the BMW vs the Audi's better style and interior and my own personal history.  Plus, like it or not, the BMW comes with more baggage than an Audi.  I'm a contractor who has to park in front of my client's houses - they don't seem to notice the Audi, but we all know what most people think of BMW owners - rich bastages.  My friend has a lowly C240 and ML320.  He seems to like the snob appeal, but I know that people will judge whether it's accurate or not.

2013 Audi A6 3.0T   
2007 Audi A6 3.2           
2010 GMC Yukon XL SLT 5.3 V8

The problem is not that people are taxed too little, the problem is that government spends too much.
-- Ronald Reagan

SJ_GTI

Have you driven the A4 3.2 quattro yet?

I wonder if it feels like the A4 2.0TQ or if its noticably heavier? Honestly I didn't feel any difference in handling between the 325i and 330i despite the extra weight.

For me price won't be a final decider, more of a tie-breaker. I like the 3er more than my car, but driving the A4 2.0TQ or A4 3.2Q with sport package could change my mind. I don't expect it to match the 3er, but it can make up for its flaws in other areas (more stable in foul weather, nicer styling inside and out, more comfortable seats, etc...). Only some decent seat time can really answer the question. I generally don't put too much stock in mag reviews because too often I have read their reviews and either the reviews are substntially different or my own opinion of the car is different than all the reviews. And in the end my opinion is more important than theirs.  :devil:  

Lebowski

QuoteLebowski, when's the Vette coming in?  You must be a little eager.