D-Man's New Ride

Started by dazzleman, March 05, 2006, 05:38:03 AM

dazzleman

Well, the big day finally arrived, and I picked up my new set of wheels yesterday.

I got a 2006 BMW 530i, in titanium silver, and traded in my dark blue 2001 BMW 530i.

Aside from the keyless entry option that I got, which I'll go into more later, the biggest difference between the 2 cars is the controls.  The navigation system is quite a bit different, as are the controls in general, particularly with the I-drive.  I'm just getting into learning all of this, though I had a quick tutorial at the dealer.

Generally, the I-drive allows for more flexibility in setting preferences.  For example, I can change through I-drive whether, when I approach the car, I want all the doors to unlock, or just the driver's door.

Keyless entry is cool.  I just walk up and put my hand on the door handle, and the car unlocks.  Then I just push a button to start it.

In terms of drivability, it seems largely the same as my previous car.  I expected this, since this is first new car I have gotten that was not a significant upgrade from my previous car.  And of course, my previous BMW basically drove as well when I traded it in as it did the day I got it.  The funny thing is, it seems to feel a little faster than the other car at higher speed (75-80 mph), but that is just my initial perception.  I haven't done much of that type of driving yet.

One thing I thought strange was that they replaced the full-sized spare tire with a donut.  I guess they wanted to make more room in the trunk, but I liked having that full-sized spare.  Another thing is that if you're not wearing your seat-belt, it bongs continuously.  A good new feature is that if somebody weighing less than 45 pounds is sitting in the front passenger seat, there is a sensor that will keep the air bag from deploying.