Provisional Licenses Difficult to Enforce

Started by TurboDan, August 14, 2006, 10:51:20 PM

GoCougs

Quote from: 850CSi on September 12, 2006, 11:46:29 AM
What I've noticed though is that most accidents that happen to the 16-18 group have more to do with driving like jackasses as opposed to a lack of skill in general. I don't know the statistics, but that's what I've seen.

I live in a college town now, and college students drive a lot more like human beings than high-schoolers do.

This was my experience, too. Sure, plenty of screwing around in small college town, but there is that jump IMO.

As I drive by my old highschool, it's interesting to note that while the school has 50% or so more students than when I graduated, the parking lot has grown by at least 300%. And there are a lot of new and/or customized vehicles, too. Some of it is due to a slight demographic change, but I think we'd all agree that the natural progression of society is that kids are given more and more at an earlier age. I believe this also adds to the issue of poor teenage driving: the more that is given, the less that is earned, and ultimately respected IMO.

Raza

Quote from: GoCougs on September 12, 2006, 02:03:04 PM
I believe this also adds to the issue of poor teenage driving: the more that is given, the less that is earned, and ultimately respected IMO.

That's a strong generalization to make.
Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?
If you can read this, you're too close

2006 BMW Z4 3.0i
http://accelerationtherapy.squarespace.com/   @accelerationdoc
Quote from: the Teuton on October 05, 2009, 03:53:18 PMIt's impossible to argue with Raza. He wins. Period. End of discussion.

GoCougs

Perhaps a better way to say it is, "spoiled." It's imutable and inevitable.

TBR

Raza is just being defensive because he is spoiled. I think you are probably right in 95% of cases, including Raza's (get ready!).

dazzleman

Quote from: GoCougs on September 12, 2006, 02:03:04 PM