Started by SVT666, June 01, 2007, 03:14:25 PM

I think it's obvious...

10 (32.3%)
14 (45.2%)
7 (22.6%)

Total Members Voted: 28

Nethead

Quote from: MX793 on June 01, 2007, 04:05:09 PM
The Chevelle isn't the same class of car as the Mustang and Camaro.? Ford's equivalent to the Chevelle in '69 was the Torino.
And Dodge's equivalent to them both was the General Lee!  And better than the Torino was the Mercury Cyclone CJ 428, which the Nethead here owned back in late '72 and early '73. 

BTW, that's NOT a '69 Chevelle--I sold Chevies for a living at the time, so I know.  The '69 Chevelle was a facelifting of the effin' gorgeous '68 Chevelle (bigger, less attractive taillights were the most noticeable difference).  I was in the Army when the Chevelle in the picture debuted--it is a '70 or later Chevelle.
So many stairs...so little time...

ChrisV

Quote from: Nethead on June 07, 2007, 10:07:33 PM
BTW, that's NOT a '69 Chevelle--I sold Chevies for a living at the time, so I know.  The '69 Chevelle was a facelifting of the effin' gorgeous '68 Chevelle (bigger, less attractive taillights were the most noticeable difference).  I was in the Army when the Chevelle in the picture debuted--it is a '70 or later Chevelle.

I posted a picture of the '69. The other visible difference in the '69 from the '68 is the "Astro ventilation" or lack of vent windows on the doors. The one pictured in the original post is a '70, due to the quad headlights. In '71, Chevy went to single 7" headlights on the car.

And I prefer the '70-71 Torino GT, which I owned an example of for a couple years (a 429 SCJ powered version). Like this car, but black:

Like a fine Detroit wine, this vehicle has aged to budgetary perfection...

CMan

Chevelle is my dream car, albeit a '70 454 SS 4 speed, but a '69 w/ 396 and 4 speed will do.
Quote from: Morris Minor on September 26, 2008, 08:43:28 AM