Tint

Started by TheIntrepid, June 04, 2007, 09:25:42 AM

TheIntrepid

So my uncles gave me $500 for graduation, and it's going towards tint on both my cars; the Intrepid now, and the Camry a week after we get it.

I'm thinking of using "Tint King"

http://www.tintking.ca/

I'm a total newbie with this stuff, so how much would be too much, and what percentage should I get done?

2004 Chrysler Intrepid R/T Clone - Titanium Graphite [3.5L V6 - 250hp]
1996 BMW 325i Convertible - Brilliant Black [2.5L I6 - 189hp]

JYODER240

I'd just save the money.
/////////////////////////
Quit living as if the purpose of life is to arrive safely at death

*President of the "I survived the Volvo S80 thread" club*

TheIntrepid

My dad wants me to get it done. It keeps it cooler during summer, and also doesn't attract attention to the aftermarket nav and the flashy looking stereo inside the car.

Champ

Check your local laws first:  http://www.tintdude.com/laws.html

A lot of states are 50% all around as max dark.  I am in MN where 50% is darkest you can go, but I run 35% and I see a lot of people doing that, and have only heard of one person getting a ticket.  Don't get the stupid looking reflective chrome tint.

IMO 50% is pretty light and most people say they wish they would have gone darker.  35% is just right, where you get sufficient darkness but it isn't too dark at night to drive with (I would wager most tint you see is 35%).  Anything darker than that becomes hard to drive with at night (5%-20% is hard to see out of).

Know that if you go too dark for your state, you can get nailed.  From what I understand most LEO's don't care unless it's way too dark.  I roll my windows down as I am getting pulled over and they have never said anything about the tint.