The Detailing Thread

Started by giant_mtb, July 06, 2010, 09:58:16 PM

giant_mtb

I've had numerous people ask me for tips and tricks when it comes to detailing their cars.  Let's have a detailing thread!  I'm no professional, but I've got some experience under my belt, so utilize this thread to ask questions about detailing your car.  There're a few others on the board that are pretty good with bodywork and detailing (Onslaught?, CJ), too, so we should have plenty of combined knowledge to help people out.

Rupert

Yeah, so I heard about this product that was supposed to, like, protect stuff, but like, everything. Do you know was that was called? I think it's best on wheels or something.

;) :lol:
Novarolla-Miata-Trooper-Jeep-Volvo-Trooper-Ranger-MGB-Explorer-944-Fiat-Alfa-XTerra

13 cars, 60 cylinders, 52 manual forward gears and 9 automatic, 2 FWD, 42 doors, 1988 average year of manufacture, 3 convertibles, 22 average mpg, and no wheel covers.
PRO TENACIA NULLA VIA EST INVIA

2o6

What's wrong with Armor All? I used some on my car......

Don't hurt me!

giant_mtb

Quote from: 2o6 on July 06, 2010, 10:09:42 PM
What's wrong with Armor All? I used some on my car......

Don't hurt me!

Protip: Make yourself some bacon.  Take the bacon grease.  Apply to your dashboard instead of Amor All.  That way, you'll at least have bacon after you grease your dash.

Mustangfan2003

I mostly use Meguires products, but I've also used some Eagle One stuff I like.

giant_mtb

Quote from: Mustangfan2003 on July 06, 2010, 10:16:03 PM
I mostly use Meguires products, but I've also used some Eagle One stuff I like.

What from Eagle One do you use?  I used a few things from them a long time ago and remember not being too happy with it...?

2o6

Quote from: giant_mtb on July 06, 2010, 10:11:44 PM
Protip: Make yourself some bacon.  Take the bacon grease.  Apply to your dashboard instead of Amor All.  That way, you'll at least have bacon after you grease your dash.