Engine Oil FAQ

Started by S204STi, February 09, 2008, 08:03:58 PM

S204STi

Intro
I want to start this essay by pointing out a couple of things.  First, I am not an engineer; I am only a mechanic who is interested in forming a basic understanding at a technical level, so that I can intelligently form opinions and inform others.  Also, I am in debt to a number of people who have gone through the time, money, and effort of a higher education and who have studied and written so much on this topic.  Thanks must go to General Motors dealer training, members of Bobistheoilguy.com (there is actually a lot of unbiased info there), members of NASIOC.com, Howstuffworks.com, and others.

What is engine oil?
Engine oil has several key ingredients which allow it to be effective in an internal combustion engine (hereafter referred to as an ICE or just Engine).  The primary component is the Base Stock.  This is the refined hydrocarbon oil that is supplied to the manufacturer.{1}

There are two types of base stock, each with different grades.  Mineral or "dino" oil is the most basic type, and comes in three grades:  Group I, Group II, and Group III.    Grp I is very rare these days; almost all motor oils that meet the latest API and manufacturer specs are at least Grp II.  Grp III is controversial, because these are allowed to be marketed as synthetic oils.  One example, and the primary offender in this, is Castrol Syntec.  It is not bad oil by any means, but the marketing nightmare it has created is worthy of a whole new thread, so I will leave this with the fact that Grp III is easily an excellent base stock, in that it is the most heavily refined without being considered a full synthetic.{1}