It Took 3 Years To Restore This ’70 Mercury Cougar Boss 302 Eliminator

Started by cawimmer430, April 14, 2020, 10:53:44 AM

cawimmer430

The manual shifter looks like an A/T shifter, I can't imagine it must be pleasant shifting with that, or am I wrong? I have no experience with such a shifter...

It Took 3 Years To Restore This '70 Mercury Cougar Boss 302 Eliminator

What we have here is a relatively rare 1970 Mercury Cougar Boss 302 Eliminator, one of just 323 units produced with this particular engine and transmission combination.

The car was sold new at San Bruno Lincoln-Mercury in California back in its day, and has since been fully restored – a process that is said to have taken 2,000 hours over a three-year period according to its Mecum Auctions listing.

Power comes from a 4.9-liter 290 HP Boss 302 4V Ford engine with 73,000 original miles (117,500 km), mated to a close ratio 4-speed manual gearbox.

Visually, the car boasts a Competition Blue exterior with a dealer-installed chin spoiler, original re-chromed bumpers, tinted glass, original restored wheels with F70-14 Polyglas tires, plus front disc brakes.

Other features include the black Comfortweave interior upholstery, original re-webbed seat belts, restored clock, AM radio and power steering, which definitely comes in handy on these types of cars (unless you're trying to sneak a workout into your commute).

As for what type of Cougar this is, well it's the more popular first-generation model (produced between 1967 and 1970), which was a genuine Pony car – it was literally the Mustang's twin brother. Newer Cougars later morphed into forgettable mid-size offerings and became less appealing.

Now, if you like your Cougars looking a little more raw, then check out this 1967 Restomod rendering. It may not be real, but it goes to show how visually aggressive first-gen models used to be, especially if you strip them down.