Vent a standalone garage?

Started by Morris Minor, August 25, 2017, 12:16:00 PM

Morris Minor

I now have a standalone garage. It has a plasterboard ceiling under non-loadbearing grade beams with a  pitched roof over the attic space. No insulation.
I don't see that there's any kind of ventilation. Heat has nowhere to go other than up through the plasterboard to the sun-heated attic space. The garage doors are tight. The only relief is when the doors are opened and you're lucky enough to get a breeze. I'm thinking this would also not be great in cold weather with hot wet cars pumping moisture in there.
With the disclaimer that I'm no building expert, shouldn't there be some kind of way for the air to get in below, go up through the ceiling, then out through the roof? Some kind of convection driven air movement?

⏤  '10 G37 | '21 CX-5 GT Reserve  ⏤
''Simplicity is Complexity Resolved'' - Constantin Brâncuși

giant_mtb

Looks like you've got a window there... :huh:

Most garages I've been in don't have dedicated ventilation...occasionally a gable vent or soffit venting...my parents' garage is soffit vented, but they're stuffed with insulation anyways because fuck the cold. You could climb up in the attic and install a gable end vent, but I don't think there's any real reason to. 

giant_mtb

If there's a drain in the floor, I wouldn't worry much about snowy wetness dripping off the cars...that's what the drain is for.  Maybe install a ceiling fan in there if you want some movement?

MX793

Quote from: giant_mtb on August 25, 2017, 12:29:37 PM
If there's a drain in the floor, I wouldn't worry much about snowy wetness dripping off the cars...that's what the drain is for.  Maybe install a ceiling fan in there if you want some movement?

I think it's actually against code to put a drain in the floor of a newer garage.
Needs more Jiggawatts

2016 Ford Mustang GTPP / 2011 Toyota Rav4 Base AWD / 2014 Kawasaki Ninja 1000 ABS