Question regarding accelerating from stop on snow/ice with manual transmission

Started by veeman, March 01, 2021, 07:38:41 AM

veeman

I've been driving stick shift for 7 years now and there's one thing, of many, I haven't figured out how to do well which really pisses me off. 

When there's snow or ice on the ground, and I'm stopped and I have to get going, I have a habit of burning my clutch.  This usually happens when I drive into or out of my garage at my house and the driveway has snow/ice on it.  The way my driveway is, I have to do a few turns, stops, and reverses, to get in or out of the garage because the garage entrance is perpendicular to the length of the driveway (it's not a straight drive in).

So what I do is depress the clutch all the way in and have my right foot on the brake.  I then take my foot off the brake and inertia won't get me going forward because the driveway is on a slight incline.  So I gently tap the accelerator in 1st gear and slowly ease off the clutch.  The tires spin because there's snow/ice and I have to give it more gas just to get going.  That's when I burn my clutch.  If I pop the clutch, I don't burn it but then I feel like I'm driving like an asshat because the car jerks violently. 

Any suggestions (besides getting an automatic :lol:)

MX793

Most cars have enough torque that, unless on a decent incline, you can take off from a stop simply by slowly releasing the clutch pedal; no throttle/accelerator required.  This includes any economy car I've ever driven.

If the tires are spinning because of snow/ice, the correct response is not more throttle, but less.  Tires spin because you are applying too much torque/power for the traction available.
Needs more Jiggawatts

2016 Ford Mustang GTPP / 2011 Toyota Rav4 Base AWD / 2014 Kawasaki Ninja 1000 ABS
1992 Nissan 240SX Fastback / 2004 Mazda Mazda3s / 2011 Ford Mustang V6 Premium / 2007 Suzuki GSF1250SA Bandit / 2006 VW Jetta 2.5

FoMoJo