First car wash; Do I need to do anything special?

Started by Raza , August 06, 2008, 05:56:34 PM

CJ

Quote from: Danish on August 07, 2008, 06:11:29 PM
Okay, I have no hope of winning this argument but consider this: My car is dirty so I wash it. I decide to dry it with a chamois or a california water blade. How is my car going to get scratched from dirt when I JUST washed it and there is no dirt on it?

They just do.  It's best to have microfiber cloths to dry.  They prevent scratching.

JYODER240

Quote from: CJ on August 07, 2008, 02:25:00 PM
DO NOT GET A CALIFORNIA WATER BLADE EVER.  DO NOT GET A CHAMOIS.  DO NOT GET A SPONGE.  Those are the three worst possible things you could possibly get.  They grab dirt and they do not let go of it, putting swirls/scratches in your paint. 

I've been detailing and washing cars for almost 4 years and never once have I scratched a car with either. I've scratched more cars with microfiber towels than with a chamiois or squeege.

Those scratched on your car look like they probably either came from a automatic car wash or from a mop that was full of dirt. Even still those aren't deep at all. A medium compound with a foam pad will take those out.
/////////////////////////
Quit living as if the purpose of life is to arrive safely at death

*President of the "I survived the Volvo S80 thread" club*

Raza

So still no consensus. 

I've got the ionizer with attached soap thing.  I'm going to look at that and report back.
Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?
If you can read this, you're too close

2006 BMW Z4 3.0i
http://accelerationtherapy.squarespace.com/   @accelerationdoc
Quote from: the Teuton on October 05, 2009, 03:53:18 PMIt's impossible to argue with Raza. He wins. Period. End of discussion.

CJ

giant_mtb