Why does the radio in my sisters BMW 118i SUCK so much?

Started by cawimmer430, December 28, 2009, 08:35:38 AM

cawimmer430

I am not an expert on radios but my main problem with it is the lack of radio stations and the piss poor reception at times. Ever since my sister got the car the radio was been literally crap. In Munich or in M?hldorf I usually only receive 3 radio stations while the rest are either static or simply not listed. I have to vent because today I only had one radio station the whole day: Bayern 3, which is the third radio station of the Bavarian state (there is also Bayern 1, Bayern 2 and Bayern 4) - and I didn't receive any others. All other frequencies were static. I played around with the AM, FM1 and FM2 settings and in both FM settings I got the same results.

Now, our E-Class on the other hand has a radio which offers you multiple radio stations, excellent reception and so forth. Even when I once visited my sister near Stuttgart with the E320 I could still listen to Bayern 3 despite being in another state. Hell, when I was in the heart of Stuttgart I still had Bayern 3 and superb reception. When I drove to Stuttgart and N?rburg with the BMW I couldn't listen to Bayern 3 anymore once I left Bavaria (literally): the reception on that station went out the window and the state radio of Baden-W?rttemberg (the state with Stuttgart as its capital) essentially replaced this radio station.

What the hell is wrong with this BMW radio? Is it the fault of the radio, the antenna or some other factor? I've driven the 118i and E320 on similar routes and the radio found in the E320 always delivers excellent reception and a healthy choice of radio stations.

So what is wrong here?  :huh:
-2018 Mercedes-Benz A250 AMG Line (W177)

WIMMER FOTOGRAFIE - Professional Automotive Photography based in Munich, Germany
www.wimmerfotografie.de
www.facebook.com/wimmerfotografie

3.0L V6

Is the antenna integrated into the windshield or rear glass or is it a mast antenna?