~2008 Mid-size Trucks. Frontier or Tacoma?

Started by Pancor, May 09, 2010, 08:57:00 AM

Nissan Frontier or Toyota Tacoma?

Nissan Frontier
9 (56.3%)
Toyota Tacoma
7 (43.8%)

Total Members Voted: 16

Pancor

I'm losing my passion for my little Ford Ranger and am about to buy a new-to-me truck.    I'm after a 4-door, manual trans 4wd, and basically have it narrowed down to these two models.   Which one would Carspin choose?

Tave

I'm not a huge fan of the Taco's reskin, and I've always liked the looks of the Frontier.

Although I have a lot of experience with Toyota's midsize truck line, and I like them immensely, I have hardly any experience with Nissan's offerings, and I can't offer you a qualified opinion on their utility.
As I write, highly civilized human beings are flying overhead, trying to kill me.

Quote from: thecarnut on March 16, 2008, 10:33:43 AM
Depending on price, that could be a good deal.

ifcar

The Tacoma has insanely high resale value. You can probably get a better deal on the Nissan.

GoCougs

Have you driven the Tacoma with the 2.7L? I had the (much smaller) first gen with the 2.7L I4 in regular cab and 4WD. It was an insanely slow vehicle. I can't imagine that engine, with only an additional 9 hp, lugging around the far bigger truck that is the crew cab second gen Tacoma.

Pancor

Quote from: GoCougs on May 09, 2010, 09:37:41 AM
Have you driven the Tacoma with the 2.7L? I had the (much smaller) first gen with the 2.7L I4 in regular cab and 4WD. It was an insanely slow vehicle. I can't imagine that engine, with only an additional 9 hp, lugging around the far bigger truck that is the crew cab second gen Tacoma.

Yeah, they're not really "compact" trucks, especially when coming from a Ranger.   I'll definitely be getting the respective  V6's.

Pancor

Quote from: ifcar on May 09, 2010, 09:11:44 AM
The Tacoma has insanely high resale value. You can probably get a better deal on the Nissan.

This is something I'm noticing!

Tave