What a week....

Started by VTEC_Inside, September 25, 2006, 04:37:48 PM

VTEC_Inside

Our new neighbour thought I was a mechanic just because of the amount of crap I'm always doing in my driveway.

This week I might as well have been.

Vehicle: My brothers '94 Corolla Wagon
Problem: Leaking gas tank
Resolution: Replace gas tank.
Notes: Dropped the tank from around the fuel pump because if I had tried to remove the high pressure line it would have certaintly broken right off the pump. Had to replace a vent assembly on the tank or it would have been done in a day. Luckily had all the parts I needed the next morning. Whole job took less than 5hrs, $440 in parts. Dealer wanted almost $1000 to do it.

Vehicle: Gfs sisters '98 Cavalier
Problem: Leaking water pump (Actually I think I should call that a feature)
Resolution: Replace water pump/gasket.
Notes: I don't know if there is actually a drain on that radiator, but I couldn't find it. Caught most of it in the pan as I tapped the water pump free. If they had Subway like cards for these water pumps, I'd have a free one by now. Changed the belt while I was there.

Vehicle: Gfs sisters '98 Cavalier
Problem: Hideous noise from either the new water pump or belt tensioner.
Resolution: I was gung ho to replace the stupid pump again, but a "friend" of hers said it was the tensioner, meh....
Notes: WHY THE HELL DOES GM MAKE THIS POS SO THAT WHEN YOU BACK OUT THE ONE!!! BOLT THAT HOLDS THE TENSIONER IN PLACE, IT BACKS OUT RIGHT INTO THE FRAME!
I had to drop the damn engine just so that I could get the bolt out. I comtemplated trimming a bit off the end, but figured to hell with it. I'm pretty sure that despite the fact I was able to start threading it by hand, that I was stipping the shit out of it as it got further in. At that point I didn't care. It should last the remaining life of the car anyway.