I want a definitive answer... (clutch question)

Started by 850CSi, June 04, 2007, 07:49:06 PM

850CSi

Okay, when I want to downshift quickly, it's best for the transmission (and to not have the car buck like a bronco) to blip the throttle.

Do I HAVE to double-clutch (Neutral, clutch out, throttle, clutch in, gear), or can I blip the throttle in neutral with the clutch in and not cause any damage to the clutch and transmission?

The latter only makes sense to me with a modern transmission but I want to make sure, because I've always double-clutched. That, and I'm not a mechanical guru.

Eye of the Tiger

There's not much of a point in double-clutching a modern synchornized transmission.
2008 TUNDRA (Truck Ultra-wideband Never-say-die Daddy Rottweiler Awesome)

The Pirate

Quote from: 850CSi on June 04, 2007, 07:49:06 PM
Okay, when I want to downshift quickly, it's best for the transmission (and to not have the car buck like a bronco) to blip the throttle.

Do I HAVE to double-clutch (Neutral, clutch out, throttle, clutch in, gear), or can I blip the throttle in neutral with the clutch in and not cause any damage to the clutch and transmission?

The latter only makes sense to me with a modern transmission but I want to make sure, because I've always double-clutched. That, and I'm not a mechanical guru.

In a modern transmission with syncros, double clutching is not necessary.  I do it sometimes on very cold mornings when the car isn't warmed up yet, and the gearbox is a bit balky.  Other than that, I never do it.

FWIW, my car has 118K HARD miles on the original clutch and tranny.  I just change the tranny oil every 30K miles.
1989 Audi 80 quattro, 2001 Mazda Protege ES

Secretary of the "I Survived the Volvo S80 thread" Club

Quote from: omicron on July 10, 2007, 10:58:12 PM
After you wake up with the sun at 6am on someone's floor, coughing up cigarette butts and tasting like warm beer, you may well change your opinion on this matter.

JYODER240