Whose done dumb sh!t before?

Started by Champ, January 30, 2008, 01:57:00 PM

Champ

Yep, I just joined the list of eternally dumb things to do.

My battery with this recent cold snap has been needing jumps so I ran down to the dealership to get a new battery.  I ran out to the lot to install it myself because I wasn't going to pay $50 for them to install a battery.

Get it in the car and connect the cables and my engine starts smoking.

Yes folks, I hooked it up backwords.  I feel like a fking retard.  I'm an electrical engineer who knows his way around cars and hooked a battery up backwords.

So I just left it at the dealership they just called and quoted my $560 to do the alternator.  Starter is still good and the car runs, just doesn't charge so it looks like everything else is in tip top shape.

Lesson learned, hooking your battery up backwords can be a $600 mistake!!!!!!  :hammerhead: :hammerhead: :hammerhead:

Anyone else do dumb stuff?  I know R-inge just blew that engine  :evildude:  Don't feel so bad dude I messed up something far simpler!

southdiver1

Ususlly my stupid moves consist of:
"Let me tighten this up just a tiny bit more..." 'snap'
I came into this world kicking, screaming, pissed off, and covered in someone elses blood.
If I do it right, I will leave this world in the same condition.

Secret Chimp

Last night, I finished cleaning out my IACV and replacing the lower oil seals on my rocker arm assembly along with redoing the valve clearances (which I think I did wrong), I go driving home, and my temp gauge starts creeping up about halfway there. I see and smell coolant when I pull into a parking lot to look, but I just turned on my heat and tried to coast home. I pulled in without having it pegged on "H".
With the car off, I took a closer look with my little keychain flashlight.
SOLUTION?
I had COMPLETELY FORGOTTEN to reattach an IACV coolant hose to the throttle body. I was just pumping coolant out of the engine.
Works of genius.