Toyota's at it again!

Started by FoMoJo, November 05, 2009, 06:25:40 AM

FoMoJo

Quote from: NomisR on November 05, 2009, 10:55:37 AM
Shouldn't we have a more rigorous driving test and driver's training rather than a simple, understand how to follow the laws and you get your license like we do today.. and even then, most people don't understand the laws.  So basically, if they can't follow something as simple as that.. why should they get to drive and endanger everyone else?
Yes.

Every day, I always wonder how people overturn their vehicles but apparently, they do since I hear at least one on the traffic report daily.  And I still can't figure it out.. I guess I'll have to see it happen before my eyes to find out.
I've seen that happen.  A couple of times it was because the driver was drunk.  Other times, it was, simply, they didn't know how to steer out of a skid or something so utterly stupid as to make one wonder if they'd fallen asleep.

I used to be an aggressive driver until I got caught up in the stupidity of others a couple of times.  Now, I'm strictly defensive.  You can never trust other drivers not to do something insanely stupid behind the wheel.
"The only reason for time is so that everything doesn't happen at once." ~ Albert Einstein
"As the saying goes, when you mix science and politics, you get politics."

TBR

Quote from: GoCougs on November 05, 2009, 10:40:15 AM
Reports, Gossip and media hype do not indicate design fault. Only data does; and we(I) have seen none.

Like I've previously said, data is logged by OBD-II ECUs. If there were data indicating a design fault(s) Toyota and various government agencies there would have already been swift (and public) action. Also bet that Toyota has spent millions $$$ investigating possible failure scenarios.

My judgment: 2% chance it's a design fault; and less than 1% chance it's floor mats.