Why I'm not a professional mechanic

Started by AutobahnSHO, January 06, 2007, 06:48:51 PM

AutobahnSHO

It APPEARS my leak is gone....

(fingers still crossed- I need to clean up the mess that was already on the garage and check for sure..)
Will

S204STi

Those create such paranoia, I completely understand why you are so nervous.  Just keep an eye on your oil level, and recheck it next oil change! ;)

AutobahnSHO

Quote from: R-inge on January 13, 2007, 06:16:15 PM
Those create such paranoia, I completely understand why you are so nervous.? Just keep an eye on your oil level, and recheck it next oil change! ;)
Oh trust me I check them both frequently. It's habit with older cars.  ;)

I'm not paranoid, am I?  :lol:

I just hope I didn't waste my time/money.  I don't want to  :cry: but I really have to scrape to come up with $50 for carstuff from time to time.. (2 in diapers, one in 2nd grade, wife doesn't work, making $26k/year or $45k with the housing figured in (we don't see the rent money though..))
Will

S204STi

Quote from: AutobahnSHO on January 13, 2007, 06:30:35 PM
Oh trust me I check them both frequently. It's habit with older cars.  ;)

I'm not paranoid, am I?  :lol:

I just hope I didn't waste my time/money.  I don't want to  :cry: but I really have to scrape to come up with $50 for carstuff from time to time.. (2 in diapers, one in 2nd grade, wife doesn't work, making $26k/year or $45k with the housing figured in (we don't see the rent money though..))

Nah, I don't think it's paranoia to replace a leaking oil pan gasket.  That sort of thing can get pretty bad.  When the dipstick tube broke off of the Focus I was losing 1/4qt every 200mi or so, and that is seemingly a small hole.  If the gasket got bad enough I imagine it could leak pretty decent quantities of oil, so I think you did the right thing.