Why I'm not a professional mechanic

Started by AutobahnSHO, January 06, 2007, 06:48:51 PM

etypeJohn

Quote from: Raghavan on January 14, 2007, 10:14:10 PM
I've seen morons crash into the pit instead. :lol:
Plus they're way more expensive. You've got to dig out a ton of space and then have your tools and stuff in there.

Plus it can collect explosive gases that are heavier than air (gasoline, propane, ect).   And you often times will need some kind of sump drain and I suspect most permitting offices would have a problem with that because of the potential for environmentally unfriendly liquids being pupmed into either the sanitary or storm sewer system.  A pit also really rstricts the usefullness of a home garage.  You always have this gaping hole to contend with.

etypeJohn

Quote from: R-inge on January 16, 2007, 07:20:33 PM
I did that once, and it is pretty much my last resort.? Now I just have a variety of filter cups and wrenches and band wrenches that do the job quite well.? Having the variety gives you more options than the "skewer" approach.

Avoid the mess by first punching a small hole in the filter at its lowest point and go have a beer while the oil drains into a pan. 

I once had a filter on so tight (factory installed on an 84 Camaro) that the band filter wrench just crushed the filter, the screwdriver just shredded the remains .  I had to take a chisel and hammer and work the filter loose by placing the business end of the chisel on the rolled lip of the filter and moving it a mm at a time with hammer blows. 

etypeJohn

Quote from: R-inge on January 16, 2007, 07:20:33 PM
I did that once, and it is pretty much my last resort.? Now I just have a variety of filter cups and wrenches and band wrenches that do the job quite well.? Having the variety gives you more options than the "skewer" approach.

The best type of oil filter wrench I have found.

FoMoJo

Quote from: etypeJohn on January 18, 2007, 07:40:57 AM