Why I'm not a professional mechanic

Started by AutobahnSHO, January 06, 2007, 06:48:51 PM

S204STi

Quote from: rohan on January 14, 2007, 07:33:15 AM
Do you know how expensive tools are- good ones like mechanics buy not the cheap ones like we buy?  I don't but I know the guy who was looking at the mods on my car for me said his tool box- jus tthe tool box was $12,000 - that's American dollars not Pesos.  I can't even imagine how much a lift would be- $5 an hour wouldn't even pay your electric bill.

I figure a good lift is a few thousand dollars.  My tool box, which is relatively small, cost me $1700 dollars (it's  a SnapOn) but new it cost the original owner somewhere around $3000.  I have probably a couple of thousand dollars at least in tools inside of it.  Being a mechanic is very expensive. :(

TheIntrepid

Quote from: R-inge on January 14, 2007, 09:34:50 AM
I figure a good lift is a few thousand dollars.  My tool box, which is relatively small, cost me $1700 dollars (it's  a SnapOn) but new it cost the original owner somewhere around $3000.  I have probably a couple of thousand dollars at least in tools inside of it.  Being a mechanic is very expensive. :(

I use the dealership. They do all this for me... and all they ask for are a few bills that say 100 on them and perhaps a piece of plastic known as a credit card.

2004 Chrysler Intrepid R/T Clone - Titanium Graphite [3.5L V6 - 250hp]
1996 BMW 325i Convertible - Brilliant Black [2.5L I6 - 189hp]

AutobahnSHO

Quote from: rohan on January 14, 2007, 07:33:15 AM
Do you know how expensive tools are- good ones like mechanics buy not the cheap ones like we buy?? I don't but I know the guy who was looking at the mods on my car for me said his tool box- jus tthe tool box was $12,000 - that's American dollars not Pesos.? I can't even imagine how much a lift would be- $5 an hour wouldn't even pay your electric bill.