Why I'm not a professional mechanic

Started by AutobahnSHO, January 06, 2007, 06:48:51 PM

AutobahnSHO

The Grand has been dripping oil on my garage for a while now, and since I needed to change the oil, I bought an oilpan gasket.

I use the Army Self-help garages, it's $5/hour for a lift and free tool usage.  But I waited almost an HOUR for a lift, since they were pretty busy. Usually I get there when they open up but it didn't happen today...

So I drain the oil and look at the pan- two of the bolts are blocked by some shield touching the tranny (to shield the flywheel) so I have to remove it.  But there's a huge bolt that has to come out, some stupid mount that seems like redundancy- it just bolts the tranny to the engine AGAIN, and there's a brace hooked to that mount up higher on the engine.  I get the shield off but those braces were hanging in my way, I didn't want interference with the pan, so I try to take them off but some hoser put an AXLE in the middle, so I'm stretching through that mess getting oily crap all over my head.

Get it all off and the pan comes off easy, scrape the gasket maker ( :nono:) off and put the gasket on, bolt it back on without breaking any bolts or studs.  :rockon:  (First time.  I sorta snapped a stud last time, on the '92..)
I put it all back together, seems I'm forgetting something, but no extra pieces are on the bench.  I change the filter, lower the van, fill it up, pay, clean the bay up and drive home. 

Total: 2hrs, $12 in bay fees, $35 for gasket, gallon of oil, and filter.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Then I'm talking with the wife about what a pain in the butt it was and realize I hadn't tightened the oil drain bolt.  I had spun it back in but was going to tighten it later...